Skip to main content design--angle-right

Next Meeting: Feb 1, 2019, 10:00am, OSU-OKC, 900 N. Portland Ave., Oklahoma City, OK, Business & Technologies Bldg. 3rd floor, Room 304A

Provide recommendations on policy and performance for the development and implementation of WIOA youth funded programs statewide. Create an Oklahoma workforce strategy for youth that aligns with youth initiatives and provides common solutions that coordinate with the state’s economic goals building wealth creation for all Oklahomans.


  • Oklahomans are aware and supportive of the state’s emerging workforce and the effect of current trends and issues.
  • A youth system is developed through a collaborative effort of networking that is inclusive of all state and local youth organizations.
  • The progress and impact of the youth system is benchmarked, measured, and rewarded and best practices reported.

Action Items:

  • Work with the education system to support the prevention and recovery of affected youth.
  • Develop prevention and recovery strategies for both in-school and out-of-school youth.
  • Develop a statewide plan in support of youth which would include a communication infrastructure that will inform and engage all stakeholders.
  • Provide guidance to assist local areas in achieving compliance.


  • Character.Org Subcommittee
    Focused on expanding character education and building employability skills statewide through the use of the Character.Org 11 Principles of Effective Character Education.
  • Career-Ready Schools Subcommittee
    Focused on the creation of a ‘Career-Ready Schools’ designating for PK-12 schools.
  • High School Equivalency Subcommittee
    Focused on strategies that result in the attainment of high school equivalency credentials by youth and young adults.
  • ICAP Subcommittee
    Focused on supporting the Individualized Career and Academic Plan in PK-12 public schools.

Youth Council Bylaws

Chuck Mills, Co-Chair
CEO, Mills Machine, Shawnee

Cecilia Robinson-Woods, Co-Chair
Superintendent, Millwood Public School, Oklahoma City

Debra Andersen
Executive Director, Smart Start Oklahoma

Lance Allee
Adult Basic Education, Oklahoma Career Tech

Kelly Arrington
Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education

Jared Bates
OK Dept. of Career and Technology Education

Shawn Black
Executive Director, Oklahoma Association of Youth Services

Tracy Brigham
OK Dept. of Rehabilitation Services

Domonique Bruner

Steve Buck
Executive Director, OK Office of Juvenile Affairs

Curtis Calvin
Deputy Director Educational Outreach, OETA

Lester Claravall
Oklahoma Department of Labor

Bryan Clark

Steve Crank
Area Manager, Oklahoma Employment Security Commission

Karen Davidson
Deputy Board Director, Southern Workforce Investment Board

Roberta Douglas
Oklahoma Dept of Career and Technology Education

Jeff Downs
Youth Champion

Chyrel Fortner
Pan Pacific Products

Scott Fry, Mid America Industrial Park
Director, Workforce Development

Robert Greenlaw
KimRay, Inc.

Greg Hall
Youth Champion, GM (retired)

John Hawkins
President, Integrated Insurance Services

Deborah Jenkins
Director, Oklahoma Housing Finance Agency

Sonia Johnson
State Department of Education

Joyce Jones
Kiamichi Career Tech

Tara Kerr
OKCareerGuide Coordinator, OK Dept. of Career and Technology Education

Anthony Kibble
Oklahoma State Department of Education

Kerry Manning
Executive Director, Southern Workforce Investment Board

Rhonda Mize
Choctaw Nation

Norma Noble
Youth Champion

Kim Osmani
Transition Coordinator, Oklahoma Department of Rehabilitation Services

Jacquelyn Pearson
Youth Champion, Tinker Air Force Base

Toni Pickle
Manager, Pioneer Telephone Cooperative

Ben Robinson
Owner/President, Sentry One LLC

Steven Shepelwich
Sr. Community Affairs Advisor, Federal Reserve Bank of KC-OKC Branch

Nathan Tatum

Rev. Leroy Walker
Rayfield Baptist Church

Jodie White
Youth Advocate, 4-H Clubs

Jeane Burruss, Workforce System Coordinator
Oklahoma Office of Workforce Development
Representing Governor’s Council for Workforce and Economic Development

Linda Emrich, Executive Asst to Deputy Secretary for Workforce Development and GCWED Coordinator
Oklahoma Office of Workforce Development
Representing Governor’s Council for Workforce and Economic Development Office of Workforce Development

Emmit Grayson, Youth Programs Coordinator
Oklahoma Office of Workforce Development
Representing WIOA Youth Programs