Oklahoma Works

Oklahoma Works is an initiative to increase the wealth of all Oklahomans through facilitating quality employment for workers and ready availability of highly skilled talent for business and industry. The initiative is a coalition of state agencies, educational institutions, businesses and other partners.

Together, we:

  • Align education outcomes and workforce and economic development policy
  • Create efficiency and collaboration among partner agencies
  • Ensure consistency across the state while encouraging local adaptation
  • Create the expectation of stellar customer focus for all

Our Vision

Gov. Fallin’s vision is to implement wealth-generating policies so all Oklahomans can achieve the American dream. To accomplish this, the Governor’s Council for Workforce and Economic Development will coordinate strategic priorities and plans across education, training and economic agencies, increasing alignment of the entire education and training pipeline.

Addressing the Skills Gap

Oklahoma has a substantial skills gap in its workforce. As we look to the year 2020, the state’s greatest challenge will be increasing the number of students with workforce credentials or associate degrees, as well as increasing the number of college graduates. Current estimates show a 23-point gap between our current workforce and the skilled workforce we will need by 2020.

For Oklahoma businesses to meet labor demands, and for Oklahoma citizens to maintain wealth-building occupations, we must understand that the new minimum for success requires a post-secondary degree or credential. Gov. Fallin created Oklahoma Works to address this crisis.

Oklahoma Office of Workforce Development Contacts:

Jeane Burruss
Workforce System Coordinator
Jeane.Burruss@osuokc.edu
405-945-3229

Robyn Coman
Policy & Program Officer
Robyn.Coman@osuokc.edu
405-945-3374

David Crow
Outreach & Information Officer
David.Crow@osuokc.edu
918-346-4644

Vikki Dearing
Employer Workforce Services & State Rapid Response Coordinator
Vikki.Dearing@osuokc.edu
405-945-9195

Sandy Elledge
Program & Policy Officer
Sandy.Elledge@osuokc.edu
405-945-3379

Linda Emrich
Executive Assistant to Deputy Secretary & Governor’s Council Coordinator
Linda.Emrich@osuokc.edu
405-945-9197

Susannah Gravley
Budget Officer
Susannah.Gravley@osuokc.edu
405-945-3342

Emmit Grayson
Policy & Program Officer/State Youth Coordinator
Emmit.Grayson@osuokc.edu
405-945-3346

Connie Littleton
Policy & Program Officer
Connie.Littleton@osuokc.edu
405-945-3386

Erin Risley-Baird
Executive Director
Erin.RisleyBaird@osuokc.edu
405-945-9139

Kyle Springer
Labor Market Analyst
Kyle.Springer@osuokc.edu
405-945-9198

Mike Widell
Deputy Secretary of Workforce Development
mike@okstate.edu
405-945-3284